Just around the corner

As I shuffle to and fro around the 11me, two places I love to pass are the old mosaic workshop on Passage Rauch and Defrise on Rue Basfroi. mosaicworks1a1

It must be wonderful for children to pass by this old workshop and spot the various animals, each with it’s own expressive face and posture.mosaicworks4 very cheeky>>>>>                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       mosaicworks5 <<  and bored

Just around the corner from the mosaic menagerie is Defrise. An Aladdin’s cave of a place spanning a number of old properties. I first came across it when I was limping around after having injured my ankle and wondering if I should resort to a cane. I thought I had hit gold dust when I spied what looked like a hundred canes in a shop window. Unfortunately Defrise does not sell; it doesn’t even allow public through it’s doors. Defrise hires props out to the theatre and film industries. It’s windows are stuffed to the gills with amazingly interesting stuff–old bicylces, cases, silverware, books–you name it and Defrise probably has it and you’ve already seen it in some French film. If you are fortunate enough to see the courtyard open, you could sneak part way in an ogle at some of the wonders there. I was once accosted by a stuffed lion being wheeled out and into a van, destined for who knows where. Wish I’d had my camera that time….defrise4a defrise1

~ by entropycottage on January 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
